Home » Uncategorized » On the First Day of Christmas, My Denim Ran with Me

On the First Day of Christmas, My Denim Ran with Me

On the first day of Christmas, my denim ran with me

by the lights on a Christmas tree. 

Image

 

It’s official. 

I have begun the 12 days of Christmas – a denim running streak. You read that correctly. I have committed myself, with you as my witness, and Jill as my guide, to a 12-day running streak in JEANS. 

Why the madness? 

Why ask why? 

When I got home from work I was ready to get busy crafting. But I remembered I had to do this, and I didn’t want to miss the first day. So I changed into my favorite jeans which have a gigantic hole in the crotch, and headed out the door. 

Oh, but mind you. It was after 6 PM and it was darker than dark outside. My headlamp is missing batteries. I could have run in the dark but I didn’t feel like getting lost or injured, and I knew my attention span would shorten with fear on the horizon. 

So I grabbed my lantern and took off. 

Yes, my lantern. 

Image

If you happened to come across a crazy person running down your street wearing jeans and carrying a battery-operated Coleman lantern, don’t worry. It was just me. 

It was so beautiful outside. I had forgotten what it felt like to run. I had forgotten what the cold air felt like on my face. I had forgotten what the dark sky with bright shining stars looked like. I had forgotten what it felt like to run in jeans. I never knew what it felt like to run almost 2 miles in jeans. 

My Nike running app even missed me, and Sonja Richards-Ross chimed in to tell me how cool I was. Little did she know what I was wearing for running attire. Holy Moses would she have been excited. 

This was the first of twelve consecutive days of running in jeans, for your reading pleasure. 

Stay tuned. It’s only going to get better from here. 

Image

6 thoughts on “On the First Day of Christmas, My Denim Ran with Me

Your comments are welcomed! Please know that I moderate all comments before deciding if they are worthy of publishing. Cheers!

